Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Employment & Self Employment at the same time.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employment & Self Employment at the same time.

I have a slight predicament. I have been working full time for 6 years in a variety of different roles. The one I am currently in (Insolvency Administrator) has announced likely redundancy at the end of this month.

I have been running my Pole Dance Teaching Business for over a year and it has taken off nicely and I am passionate about it. I have parties being booked frequently on my weekends and new girls contacting me every week for the regular classes.

Due to the fact I am stuck in my full time role all day, I miss phone calls and emails that I am not meant to answer from people wanting to come for classes. These have been coming more frequent and I have missed out on business due to the fact I cannot get the phone and people cannot speak to me to come to the class that they are phoning about for that night for example.

I have been working full time employment, part time self employment. So have evenings and weekends for the business and Monday - Friday 9-5pm for employment.

Now due to the fact I am being made redundant due to our cost cutting head office. I have the opportunity to decide if I should get another full time job, part time job or no job so I can focus on my business?

I am a little worried about the current climate and the fact that people are struggling and it is not a good time to lose a secure job. However by going into another full time role I will restrict my business and it will not be able to develop without my time as I also really want to work on retaining existing customers too.

My questions are:

How easy is it to go full time self employed?

Do people have any tips on to contribute before doing it?

Can anyone tell me about any experiences of running a business while working full time?